Computerus

User avatar
Mongrel
Posts: 9900
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Canadumb

Re: Computerus

Postby Mongrel » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:52 pm

Yeah I had to roll it back for that very reason (NoScript being removed from my hotbar).
Image

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5868
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Computerus

Postby Thad » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:13 pm

Yeah, the NoScript site still says the new version will be ready by the time 57 comes out, but nope!

Mobile version seems OK.

Desktop version locks up every single time I try to open the menu. Seriously. (Win7, at work.)

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5868
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Computerus

Postby Thad » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:19 pm

And when I try to autoscroll. Super.

Going to try rebooting. If that doesn't fix, I guess it's back to the ESR version. (That's v52. You probably don't want to stick with 56, because it won't be getting any more security updates.)

User avatar
Brentai
Woah Dangsaurus
Posts: 2151
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:40 pm

Re: Computerus

Postby Brentai » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:28 pm

Ha haaa I was so very prepared for this.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5868
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Computerus

Postby Thad » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:12 pm

Back to ESR for now. Won't plan on updating on my desktop or laptop at home (because I use NoScript on both). Might try on the HTPC.

Not seeing anyone else reporting my issue yet. I'll keep an eye out; it's still a brand new release.

Tried rebooting, tried uninstalling and reinstalling, tried deleting my profile (backed up first, of course). Issue persisted until I rolled back.

User avatar
Mongrel
Posts: 9900
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Canadumb

Re: Computerus

Postby Mongrel » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:07 pm

I had to turn off the update notification function because it was badgering me to update every time I opened a new tab, plus some extra random times on top of that.

OKAY MOZILLA, I THINK I GET IT.
Image

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5868
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Computerus

Postby Thad » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:22 pm

Again, you might want to install the ESR. It'll continue to get security updates but won't prompt you to upgrade to a non-ESR version.

The differences between v52 and 56 are mostly superficial. In the old days, they would have been minor version bumps; Chrome kind of fucked up browser versioning for everybody.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5868
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Computerus

Postby Thad » Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:19 pm

There's also Basilisk, a fork of Firefox 56.

User avatar
beatbandito
Posts: 1755
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:04 am

Re: Computerus

Postby beatbandito » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:11 pm

Firefox Quantum NoScript is out.

You should all get it now because my sister was hired by Mozilla for Quantum user retention and now that its released she seems to spend all day hooked up to a computer that shocks her whenever someone stops using current release.

I mean not that I do because Firefox's thing seems to follow the Bethesda method for development, and I'm not one to wait for mods to make the browser enjoyable, but you should.
Image

User avatar
Brentai
Woah Dangsaurus
Posts: 2151
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:40 pm

Re: Computerus

Postby Brentai » Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:19 pm

If it helps, the primary reason I don't use Firefox as my main browser currently is that it doesn't handle opening images with bad MIME types gracefully.

User avatar
Mongrel
Posts: 9900
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Canadumb

Re: Computerus

Postby Mongrel » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:51 am

So FF Quantum had enough options of its own that I was finally able to upgrade without worrying about too many busted UI add-ons (and I found replacements for all my outdated utility add-ons, so that worked out too). Plus most things not included by default as a customizable UI option can be altered or added using the chrome.css file, which just requires you to search around a bit for the right piece of code. So far so good.

Only there's one small problem - they removed the fucking STOP LOADING BUTTON!? (It technically exists the spot where refresh button is while the refresh animation plays... but only if you let the page load in the first place!).

Been searching for a bit and I keep finding advice from about two months ago that says "restore defaults" and then re-customize. Only I guess that doesn't work for the latest builds? Anyone have any ideas how I can fix this? I've found nothing about re-adding it via the chrome.css file either.

The fucking stop loading button... are you fucking kidding me? Seriously?
Image

User avatar
Mazian
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 3:47 pm
Location: Up in the air

Re: Computerus

Postby Mazian » Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:51 pm

Looks like my Firefox stop loading button is right where it always was.

Image

User avatar
mharr
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:54 am
Location: UK

Re: Computerus

Postby mharr » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:14 pm

Not sure if this is exactly the right thread, but it does seem to contain the right general expertise:

Does anyone have successful experience using virtualisation to sandbox not-quite-trusted games off into their own private OS environments? There's a growing list of apparently well meaning anti-cheat tools that are basically rootkits, and I'm wondering if there's a cheaper, more elegant way to deal with that than just buying a whole separate gaming rig for those titles?

User avatar
Mongrel
Posts: 9900
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Canadumb

Re: Computerus

Postby Mongrel » Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:18 pm

So a small FF Quantum issue.

Zoom is fucked on some forums and websites. For example, I might set it such the post text is same as it used to be, so that posts themselves are readable at least, but everything else is buggered as a result and may be oversized or undersized as a result. For example, the pages showing the subforums, or the subforum page showing topic lists on Bronto are now slightly oversized. On another forum those pages are undersized and all the icons are blurry no matter what zoom I have it set to.

Been googling for a while but I can't seem to find anything related to this. Is there a setting I can twiddle with on GG or FF which might fix this?

Is it because my screen is 16:10 and not 16:9? I could see that maybe being the issue.
Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests