Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

User avatar
beatbandito
Posts: 1753
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:04 am

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby beatbandito » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:23 pm

Into the Breach is pretty fun. Advance Wars meet FTL which makes sense because it's the FTL guys. It's turn based combat that only lets you redo turns in a round once per battle, but makes it pretty hard to make a mistake from input as long as you take your time. I don't. But it also gives you a level of progression through campaigns that allows me to power level in a way that makes up for the frustrated over-clicking. Until I over-click the wrong pilot and lose my ubermensch.
Image

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby Thad » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:32 am

Yeah, looking forward to the Linux release; all the reviews I've seen so far have been glowing.

I have FTL but I haven't gotten around to playing it. I really should.

User avatar
mharr
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:54 am
Location: UK

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby mharr » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:44 am

It's a thing of beauty that you can still make a serious living creating the games we were all mocking up in Deluxe Paint back in the 90s. The subculture has its problems, but damn does it respect craft.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby Thad » Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:36 am

I'm enjoying Rise of the Tomb Raider so far, but man, I've never had a framerate this inconsistent.

Benchmarking an average 80 FPS on the Very High preset sounds good, but when the variance is a low of 15 and a high of 180, that's pretty fucking janky. I have to kick it down to Low just to consistently get above 30, and, well, my graphics card really should be able to do better than Low.

I wonder if the bottleneck could be processor or RAM or what.

...oh right, Feral just released a tool called GameMode that's supposed to be able to toggle system settings to something more game-friendly. Guess I'll try that next time I play.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby Thad » Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:42 am

Also, Steam has suddenly and bafflingly started blocking Bluetooth connections from my PS4 controllers. If I pair a controller while Steam is open, it will briefly connect and then immediately disconnect. If I pair it when Steam isn't open, it'll pair just fine, but as soon as I open Steam it disconnects. They work fine if I connect them with USB cables.

User avatar
mharr
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:54 am
Location: UK

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby mharr » Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:52 am

That sort of frame rate jank is generally runaway garbage collection due to some memory pool or other being slightly too small, or possibly too big if java is involved. No idea what Steam is playing at.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 5857
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby Thad » Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:27 pm

Well, my system RAM is above the recommended specs (recommended is 12GB, I've got 16). I think my graphics card's only got 4GB, so that could be it.

Could also be the processor, which is only an i3. I fired up GameMode and it's improved the framerate, so that suggests the processor was at least part of the problem.

I haven't started playing it again but I ran the benchmarks a few times and I can mostly get above 30fps at the High preset (1080p). That might be good enough; I'll see how it looks in-game.

User avatar
Brentai
Woah Dangsaurus
Posts: 2149
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:40 pm

Re: Hey [%target] Whatcha Playin'?

Postby Brentai » Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:07 pm

RotTR is notorious for its inconsistent framerate to the point that sites that used it as a standard benchmark used three different scenes because there wasn't one that would be representative enough of the game's performance. I've not seen that for any other game. Even the Pro/X console versions of the games don't consistently maintain 60fps. There are developer comments that the game was designed around 30fps in some fashion, so setting the limiter might actually be what you want to do.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests