MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Fri Jun 10, 2022 11:02 pm

...gah. Protip, though, if you want to watch one of their livestream events, either watch it actually-live or wait until they put the pre-recorded version up the next day. Because if you start it two and a half hours late, you will get booted out when they cut the feed off.

(Fortunately, though, the way they're doing it now they're putting the "just the episode" stream up at midnight and the "premier" livestream up later the same day in prime time, so you can still finish the episode, you just don't get the post-show Q&A or intermission sketch or whatever.)

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Sun Jun 26, 2022 3:04 am

Really, for anybody who hasn't been watching season 13, check it out when you get a chance because it's fucking great. If I have a complaint it's that most of the host segments aren't anything to write home about (though there are exceptions; the Mothacrabba song is a highlight), but the movie selection has been really strong. Munchie, Mordrid, Demon Squad, they're really on a hot streak here. And we haven't even gotten to the Gamera movie yet.

Also digging the return of both Joel and J Elvis as Servo, and the flatimation reproduction of the Joel-era set and door sequence are a neat touch.

And I'm pretty sure Joel's first line, "Can anyone hear me?" is a callback to the early KTMA episodes when the premise was kind of a Silent Running thing, before the Mads were introduced, though I'd have to look back and double-check.

User avatar
Mothra
Woah Dangsaurus
Posts: 3841
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:12 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Mothra » Sun Jun 26, 2022 2:46 pm

I'll check it out, thanks for the heads-up.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Fri Jul 22, 2022 9:55 am

The Mads' riff of Glen or Glenda (their first livestream, from two years ago yesterday) is now available to watch for free on YouTube.



Here's what I said about it previously:

Thad wrote:I watched it last year and liked it. As for the content, I'll caution that it's the extended cut of the film with the weird, long, rapey fever-dream sequence. And of course while the movie is remarkably progressive and sensitive for the 1950s, the phrase "for the 1950s" is doing a lot of heavy lifting there.

I'll also add that I felt like, while Trace and Frank made fun of the movie's shoddy production values, they didn't make fun of the subject matter. I don't remember any transphobic jokes.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Thu Aug 04, 2022 12:48 am

Gamera vs. Jiger is another solid movie in a pretty good run of them. I don't think it's the best Gamera movie, but it avoids the cardinal sin of monster movies, ie making a movie that's 80 minutes of bullshit followed by 10 minutes of monster. The monster fights in GvJ may not be up to the standard of...whatever that one is where he goes to another planet and fights that knife-headed monster, but at least there are a lot of them. I don't think the movie ever goes 20 minutes without some kind of kaiju battle.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:01 pm



That lightning bolt is terrible but on balance it's a much better costume than '40s Batman and Robin.

Image

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:13 pm

Also, this.



Rifftrax Live: Return of Swamp Thing is a week from today. I'm still not comfortable going to a movie theater, but for those of you who are interested.

User avatar
Mongrel
Posts: 19664
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: There's winners and there's losers // And I'm south of that line

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Mongrel » Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:25 pm

Having read Matt Fraction very early on in his career when he was doing little indie stuff, it's always a little wild to see him doing major high-profile stuff. Good on him.
Image

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Thu Aug 11, 2022 3:45 pm

And I've been reading Simone since...well, probably Women in Refrigerators, but I'd have seen her first professional comics work in Simpsons Comics too.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Thu Nov 10, 2022 2:57 pm

Turkey Day Plans

7 am ET / 4 am PT The Sword and the Dragon
9 am ET / 6 am PT The Starfighters
11 am ET /8 am PT Catalina Caper (FAN SELECTED EPISODE)
1 pm ET / 10 am PT Horror of Party Beach (FAN SELECTED EPISODE)
3 pm ET / 12 pm PT Santo in the Treasure of Dracula (Season 13: The Gizmoplex) (Trailer)
5 pm ET/ 2 pm PT Beyond Atlantis (Season 13: The Gizmoplex) (Trailer)
7 pm ET / 4 pm PT Warrior of the Lost World (FAN SELECTED EPISODE)
9 pm ET / 6 pm PT City Limits
11 pm ET / 8 pm PT Parts: The Clonus Horror (FAN SELECTED EPISODE)
1 am ET / 10 pm PT Mitchell
3 am ET / 12 am PT Sleep for Health (S13 short)



User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Thu Nov 24, 2022 2:19 pm

Caught a bit of Catalina Caper. Haven't watched the DVD version in ages but my sense was that the AI upscaling probably improved the clarity of the picture.

Doesn't do the silhouettes any favors, though. It smooths the edges, but doesn't fix the issues they had in the early seasons -- Joel's head looks really flat for much of it, you can't make out Crow's netting, etc.

User avatar
Thad
Posts: 11552
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:05 am
Location: 1611 Uranus Avenue
Contact:

Re: MST3K, Rifftrax, and the rest

Postby Thad » Fri Nov 25, 2022 12:59 am



(Nitter)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest