Hard Modes

Friday

Hard Modes

Postby Friday » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:39 am

Hello I am Friday, age 7, and I have been a game designer for 20 years or more.

Some of you may or may not have played some of the games I've made. Vampires vs Werewolves, Guild vs The Boards, The Thing.

I like designing games and having people play them and enjoy them! I do this as a DM in my incredibly homebrew Dnd campaign too, and it's been successful enough to keep my players coming back for over 15 years.

But what's that you say? My ek2 and ek3 zones were fucking garbage?!

FUCK YOU

Nah, you're right. They actually are pretty bad. I'm not gonna overly shit talk myself (and I did release patches/easytype to help) but they had serious problems. And those problems were entirely about how fucking hard they were.

In ek3, even working with the backlash I got over ek2 in mind, I still made my sections too hard.

But I learned from my mistakes and have applied them to my newer works. Hopefully, I can move forward without ever torturing anyone ever again.

But this thread isn't about me and my sadistic urges. It's about difficulty in videogames in general.

CHAPTER ONE: THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM

DARK SOULS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111111111111111111

CHAPTER TWO: EVERYONE HAS SEEN TWENTY VIDEOS/ESSAYS/RANDOM FANS GOING ON ABOUT DARK SOULS, SO LETS SKIP IT

CHAPTER THREE: Are games "supposed" to be challenging?

Nope!

They certainly can be! That's a valid way to make a game! But most people don't want to be challenged by a game! they just want to have fun and relax! Games like Stardew Valley have no real challenge but are amazingly popular (including with me) with almost everyone. You don't need to murder your player. You just... don't! You can make games that don't even have fail states!

The original design of games was the Arcade. Games were designed to eat quarters, so they were designed to be extremely hard, bordering on impossible, in order to get you to put in more money.